Painted Halloween

So it’s that time of year again. The time to decided do I got slutty or funny? Do I go zeitgeist or punny? Should I be the Big Lebowski or the Beibs? These are all valid concerns people but I have to say that there is one more you should ask yourself this Halloween. What colour should I be?

Now I’m not talking about going out in black face and trying to justify it as “how far we have come” I’m talking bright, crazy weird and wonderful colours. For the second time in a row I shall be heading off into the night this year painted head to toe. You have no idea the joy of looking in the mirror and seeing a green face look back. It’s just so… I don’t know. There are no words for how much I love this.

I know what you’re thinking, what type of costume is just a colour? What can I be? I’ll tell you!

Look to the world of cartoon movies and choose the most recent one. That’s all you have to do. People won’t care if it’s a good one or not they will just appreciate the effort you went to getting that skin tone nice and even, and even more so they will appreciate you care so much about your get up that you’re willing to have different coloured nail beds until Christmas.

Here’s a quick example of me as a minion last year.

meminionPretty great huh?

Now here’s a minion costume I found on google where no one is painted.

minionNot very impressive is it?

So you see! All the best costumes involve body paint there’s no question! Avatar costumes that aren’t painted on… pfft ha! No effort, shop bought laziness! Ninja Turtle costume of ebay… paha! Boring!

This is my turtle from early celebrations this year complete with home made weaponry and a mask made out of cut up old pillow case.

meturtleIt might not be pretty, it might not be punny or clever but darn it that takes some effort, and people like effort. So think about it that 5 quid pot of paint might be the best thing you buy this season, apart from the green beer and orange cocktails, those are pretty good too.

Leave a Reply

