You Have To Be Odd To Be Number One

So there’s been no development on the TV show since my last post. I’ve written a fair amount more, which is good. And I think it’s getting funnier which is better. But it’s getting harder every day though to concentrate on literally anything else. I’m pretty certain that I’ve never wanted anything more that this. There’s a little voice telling me so every minute of every day.

Every morning I hop out of bed and turn on my coffee machine before I get in the shower. I’m one of those truly terrible people who is medically required to take a mug of coffee orally twice daily or I will become a sort of grumpy monster man who gets on everyone’s nerves. Coffee gives my brain that extra bunk up it needs to climb the morning wall and make it into the day. Without it the “grumpus” monster version of myself would simply crash through my morning wall and proceed to stamp and kick the days of my nearest and dearest. Essentially my entire being requires hot black liquid to function properly.

Except the little voice. The little voice jumps up and down on my brain at all times. It never sleeps and it never tires and it only talks about one thing.

“Hey Ranald imagine if we had our own TV show, like one that we wrote and created and people laughed at, wouldn’t that be cool?”

“If we make a TV show and people like it and we get paid we should pay back mum and dad for everything they’ve done I think that would be really nice don’t you? Oh oh oh, and we can give Struan the money for a down payment on a house or a flat if he’ll take it from us.”

“Do you think we should put more jokes in the pregnancy scare scene? Because I think the argument is a bit heavy don’t you? How about something like: I don’t want it, I want to adopt it’s better for the environment, like recycling.”

But unlike when people I know only talk about one thing all the time, I don’t find the little voice annoying. It’s comforting and exciting and exhilarating all at once. I never want it to quieten down. It’s funny, it’s weird and I love it.

In the immortal words of the incomparable Dr Seuss “You have to be odd to be number one.”

Leave a Reply

